The text of the notification
As promised in our March is nutrition month, we will be publishing one food & nutrition myth per day, written by Dietitians of Canada, so that you can “Get the real deal on your meal“.
THE TRUTH: A gluten-free diet is the only healthy way of eating for people with celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, but it’s not necessary for everyone else. Gluten is a type of protein found in grains like wheat, barley and rye, and any foods made with these grains. Unless you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, or you are allergic to one of these grains, you don’t need to avoid them. Whether the grain you choose is gluten-free (such as corn, rice, millet or quinoa) or not, enjoying more whole grains is a healthy choice. For good health, make at least half of your grain choices whole grain each day.
Source: Dietitians of Canada