The text of the notification
This week I’m recommending a 5-course gluten-free festive menu for a the holidays. This means that foods containing rye, oats, wheat, barley, triticale and its derivatives have to be avoided.
We have to therefore replace a large number of everyday foods such as pasta and bread with their gluten-free equivalent. Common commercially baked goods also have to be made with flour substitutes such as rice, corn, soy, arrowroot, etc. And we should be careful of milk-based drinks, pie fillings, fruit yogurts, sauces and any other product that may contain gluten in various forms (e.g. starch).
And beware of beer as it is made from malt, or sprouted barley. But cheer up: there’s absolutely no harm if you make a toast with wine or champagne 😉
For additional festive recipes and menus that meet dietary restrictions, go to our Christmas Page.
Originally published in the Journal de Montréal on December 10, 2011.